Ridiculously Easy Barbeque Sauce

BBQ sauce is one of those things here in the states that must be like a cream sauce in France or a Marinara sauce in Italy; everyone has their own way of making it and they think theirs is the best. So it can be a little intimidating if you aren’t a “natural” cook to try to tackle something like this but I can assure you it is ridiculously easy. Below I’ll give you that starter for a sauce that you can then truly make your own. You can add lots of other things to your taste but this is the basic sauce. I’ve put in approximate measurements but I didn’t really measure anything and after you get good at this, you won’t either but here it is:

¼ c. tomato paste       BBQ Sauce 500

2-4 TB Red Wine Vinegar

1-2 tsp honey

½ tsp garlic

1 TB Worcestershire sauce

½ tsp. yellow mustard

Salt

That’s the basics!

A lot of recipes call for dry mustard but I didn’t have any so I used yellow mustard and it was great. Most called for ketchup but I like to make mine from products that don’t have other things in them. Couldn’t help it with the Worcestershire though, it just adds the flavor I want.

You can add other things as well. Here’s a list of some of the things I’ve run across that other people put in their sauce and you can too:

Liquid Smoke Onion Powder Minced Onion Fresh Garlic
Lemon Juice Black Pepper Chili Powder Cayenne
Soy Sauce Butter Molassas Brown Sugar
Paprika Oregano Thyme

Personally, I like to put onion powder or minced onion, oregano, thyme and molasses in mine. Liquid smoke just sounds kind of weird to me. All of that is fair game though so mix it up and have some fun and make your own signature BBQ sauce.

Leave a Reply

