Mexican Seasoning Mix

Mexican Spice Mix (2)
I’ve been wanting to have my own seasoning mixes from different parts of the world just to have on hand when I wanted that flavor.  Armed with my own knowledge of what Mexican spices are, I searched the Internet for more ideas and came up with this one.  I like it lot and it will store for a very long time.

1 TB salt

2 TB  chipotle or ancho chili powder
1/2 TB black pepper
1/2 TB ground cumin
1/2 TB granulated garlic
1 tsp ground turmeric
1 tsp ground oregano

1 tsp thyme
1/8 – 1/4  tsp ground cayenne pepper

 

Mix well and store in an airtight container.

Of course, you can add more or less of any of these to your taste but this is a place to start from. 

Omit the salt if you want just the seasoning and want to add your own salt as you cook.

I’ve put this on just about anything I’ve cooked:  eggs, potatoes, broccoli, whatever!

The chipotle or ancho chile powder can be found at a well-stocked grocery store or at a Mexican grocery.   They usually have a lot of nice spices.

Leave a Reply

